Why? Weekends!

***A bit of blogkeeping: Lee over at In My Tummy…On My Mind has created possibly the best and definitely the fuzziest blog post ever. It’s called Golden Retrievers of the Blog World and it features my CLEpups, as well as Grady from Poise in Parma. Check it out!***

Hope you had a wonderful weekend, CLE! Friday night, a group of us headed out for dinner at Deagan’s Kitchen & Bar, followed by the Secondhand Mutts Smooches for Pooches bowl-a-thon.

CLEguy and I were joined by Alicia from Poise in Parma and her hubby Hans, Amanda from Clue Into Cleveland and her hubby Scott, and Julie from Wearing Mascara and her boyfriend Todd.

Whenever I combine one of my favorite places to hang out with some of my favorite people, I know it’s going to be a great night. I cannot say enough about the quality of both the food and the service at Deagan’s. This is one of my go-to places and it should be on your list, too!

I somehow managed to narrow down Deagan’s awesome beer list to two I wanted to drink: Founders Breakfast Stout and Unibroue La Fin du Monde. CLEguy started and stuck with the New Holland Dragon’s Milk. For dinner, CLEguy and I split the Angels on Horseback to start: bacon-wrapped scallops served with an insanely tasty pea puree.

For our entrees, CLEguy chose the can’t-miss lobster mac ‘n cheese. I went with a small plate special of Killibuck Valley mushroom ravioli and a side of brussels  sprouts with pork lardons.

The lobster mac ‘n cheese was fantastic – creamy and stuffed with huge chunks of lobster. The ravioli smelled fantastic – very earthy – and the taste did not disappoint either.

For dessert, Deagan was kind enough to surprise us with a complimentary sampler of some of their delicious desserts.

We got to try the creme brulee, the cinnamon bun bread pudding, the key lime torte, and the peanut butter pie. The bread pudding and key lime torte are tied for my favorites. We all devoured every decadent bite! Many thanks to Deagan for the sweet treats!

After a fantastic meal, we headed to Madison-Square Lanes for the Smooches for Pooches bowl-a-thon. To learn more about Secondhand Mutts and the great work they do fostering and finding homes for pups, you can check out this post.

We had a fabulous time bowling badly, playing with some of the adoptable pups, and listening to cheesy 80’s pop music.

Look at Alicia's and my faces - classic

All in all, it was a great evening of good friends, good food, and a good cause!

Most of Saturday and Sunday were spent in a haze of packing boxes, as we’ll be moving into our new house next weekend! By Sunday night, I was ready for a break and was so glad I had some good girl time on the calendar.

We went to Luchita’s, which never disappoints with tasty margaritas and Mexican fare.

This past weekend, Luchita’s celebrated its 30th year in business in Cleveland. Next time you need a little fiesta in your life, head on over to Luchita’s!

How was your weekend, CLE? What new answers to Why CLE? did you discover?

6 thoughts on “Why? Weekends!

CLEcomments

