Why? Weekends!

It finally feels like winter in CLE! On Friday, I headed to the West Side Market with absolutely no idea what I wanted to purchase. Personally, I think this is the best way to shop at the Market. There are so many interesting things (like goat shoulder which I am totally buying next time) and letting your imagination direct your purchase is half the fun.

I started my buying at Kate’s Fish.

The fresh oysters just called to me and after a quick tutorial on how to open them, I was off in search of more dinner items.

Next up: Ohio City Pasta. So many yummy choices! I chose a dozen of the asparagus and marscapone ravioli. Then it was onto Pinzone’s Market Fresh Meats. Whether at the Market or at their store in Parma, Pinzone’s has some of the best meat choices. I scored a just-cut, not-even-in-the-case-yet strip steak.

For dessert, I decided to be a bit sappy. After all, it is almost Valentine’s day.

From Theresa’s Bakery, I got a heart-shaped chocolate mousse cake.

After all that shopping, I needed lunch, so I snagged a bratwurst sandwich. So simple…just a brat on a hard roll with a squirt of stadium mustard. And yet so delicious! I sat up on the balcony and took in the Market.

The Market is celebrating its 100th birthday this year. This is one of CLE’s most amazing spots: so many different cultures coming together, so much good food, and so much history. Shopping there made for a pretty great afternoon!

And shopping at the Market also made for a pretty great evening. Once CLEguy figured out how to open the oysters, we enjoyed them with a mignonette made with The Greenhouse Tavern’s craft beer vinegar. We also opened a bottle of The Greenhouse Tavern’s pinot noir, so I guess we have two of CLE’s best foodie spots to thank for providing us great fare for dinner (CLEguy won both the wine and vinegar at the Iron Chef watch party).

It made for a fantastic meal and a really nice way to relax at the end of the week. As much as I love going out, an evening at home is always nice and way more budget-friendly: the entire meal cost $30!

The next morning, I got up bright and early for a community yoga class at Nishkama Yoga.

I got to practice with Alicia from Poise in Parma and one of her college friends. Our awesome teacher was @BTUniverse, who is one of the sweetest, happiest yogis out there! All I’m going to say about the class is that if you haven’t sung Garth Brooks’ “Friends in Low Places” while in pigeon pose, you’re missing out…

Saturday evening, CLEguy and I met up with our CLEfriends R&R for dinner at Yours Truly. I love Yours Truly: a great comfort food menu, a fun atmosphere, and delicious milkshakes!

Both couples decided to share the “Cupid’s Special,” which included an order of notso fries, 2 burgers or chicken sandwiches, and 2 milkshakes. For those of you not familiar, notso fries are waffle fries topped with cheese and bacon and served with a side of sour cream. Delicious!

The Cupid’s Special is only $20 per couple and is being offered through February 19. It’s a great deal!

The rest of our weekend was spent doing wedding-y things, but I’ll tell you all more about that with the next wedding update post. Oh, but we did get to see this sign in front of our new house, which is pretty darn exciting:

How was your weekend, CLE? What new answers to Why CLE? did you discover?

3 thoughts on “Why? Weekends!

  1. ohiofestivals

    Food looks great! We picked up some monkfish for the first time last night and cooked that. It was a great food adventure in itself!

    Reply
  2. Alicia from Poise in Parma

    I love going to the WSM to create an incredible meal at home. Those brats always look so tasty – I need to remember to NOT eat lunch before heading there next time! And it was lovely practicing next to you on Saturday morning – thanks for putting up with my yoga karaoke singing!!

    Reply

CLEcomments

