Why? Weekends!

It was another busy weekend in CLE, so let’s get right to it. On Saturday morning, CLEguy and I had our engagement pictures taken. I am dying to see the proofs, but I already know Heather from New Image Photography did a fantastic job. She made us feel so relaxed…half the time, I didn’t even know she was taking pictures. We went to Fairport Harbor Beach, which is not only beautiful, but also has a stretch of beach that is open to dogs. We took the CLEpups and they loved every minute, even if they weren’t the most cooperative photo subjects. This is a great place to take the fuzzes to play!

Saturday evening, we headed to The Greenhouse Tavern for dinner and to celebrate the filming of “Unique Eats” at the restaurant. As you may have heard, the Cooking Channel’s “Unique Eats” show was in town to film some of the finest our city has to offer in restaurants. It was great to be at The Greenhouse Tavern to witness the filming and to lend support to what is certainly one of our finest and most inventive restaurants.

Our meal started out with a complimentary appetizer, which every table received that night as a thank you for attending the filming. Our appetizer was foie gras steamed clams, which were delicious. The clams were tender and the foie gras sauce was incredibly rich.

CLEguy and I decided to split the 4-course Chef’s Tasting Menu for dinner. This is a wonderful way to try a bit of everything on the menu. We chose the bacon-wrapped peaches, the duck pasta, the chicken fried lamb steak, and the pommes frites.

I am not a huge fan of peaches, but the bacon wrapping changed my mind! The duck pasta was my favorite of the dishes we chose. The duck skin cracklings added a wonderful texture against the smooth, rich pasta. I almost licked the plate. The chicken fried lamb steak was also excellent – crispy and not greasy. I highly recommend dipping the pommes frites in the veloute that comes with the lamb steak – divine! All in all, another home run dinner at The Greenhouse Tavern and another example of why they truly deserve the honor of being featured on “Unique Eats.”

Sunday, I did two things I’ve never done before: 1. I practiced yoga and 2. I was interviewed on the radio. Just another example of how much my life has changed in the last year or so and the amazing directions your life can go in if you let it…

On Sunday morning, I attended Practice on the Preserve, hosted by Cleveland Yoga at Patterson’s Fruit Farm. This was a free 75-minute yoga class in celebration of the third-annual Cleveland Yoga appreciation day.

While the weather moved the class inside, the room was still buzzing with energy and excitement when we arrived.

CLEguy has practiced yoga for years. He and so many of my yogi friends have been trying to get me to try it. But, fear of looking like a fool or not knowing what I was doing held me back. I am so glad I finally tried it, though! The poses I was able to do made me feel strong and capable and proud. The girl on the mat next to me helped me through a couple of the tougher poses and made me feel part of a community. There were people of all ages, sizes, and ability levels practicing. Then came the moment I had been dreading. I got myself into a pose (I can’t remember the name of it) and I promptly fell over. I mean, I bit it hard. One of the teachers who was standing nearby laughed and said, “That was awesome.” And I laughed too, picked myself up, and continued on. I can’t wait to attend my next yoga class!

After class, we got to snag some yummy eats from The Chubby Cook, who was providing sustenance for hungry yogis.

Scott, Alicia, and Michelle served up Arnold Palmers, gazpacho, and delicious open-faced veggie sandwiches with hummus, feta, tomatoes, and sprouts. Light, healthy, and flavorful…I can’t wait to try more of The Chubby Cook’s fare!

After yoga, I headed over to WKC 1420 AM for the inaugural Emerging Chefs radio show. The Emerging Chefs partners – Michael, David, and Rick – chatted about recent CLE culinary happenings. Then, Chef Kimberly McCune talked about Friday’s upcoming ReHival Farm-to-Table dinner, which sounds absolutely mouth-watering. I got to talk a bit about the blog, what I love about CLE, and my thoughts on being a “boomerang.” It was a really fun experience and just another great way to share my love of CLE. The Emerging Chefs radio show will be on every Sunday on 1420 AM from 3-4pm, so check it out for an inside scoop on foodie buzz.

It was an amazing weekend and I think this sign I saw at Practice on the Preserve sums it up better than I ever could:

10 thoughts on “Why? Weekends!

  1. jkadams116

    Sounds like you had a wondeful weekend! And so glad you dug the yoga class – it really is a great thing to get into, and being able to fall over and laugh about it is really what it’s all about :)

    Reply
  2. Joseph Weagraff

    I really enjoy reading your posts. Your blog played a role in my decision to move back to Cleveland earlier this year. I’m working on a post for my blog to share with the new Boomerang Group on Facebook this evening.

    Great stories here. Thanks!

    Reply
  3. poiseinparma

    I have to confess I was keeping an eye on you during your practice on Sunday AM. I was so proud of you for giving it your all. I know yoga gets frustrating sometimes (especially when you get stuck focusing on your thoughts instead of the physical practice), but you refocusing each time you got flustered and jumped back into your moment. You did great!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Unique Eats Taping at Washington Place Bistro & Inn « poise in parma

CLEcomments

